Gov. Simon Lalong of Plateau state says the peaceful conduct of the APC's congresses across the state are a result of the cooperation of the citizens towards peace development.

Speaking at the state Congress of the party in Jos, Gov Lalong said "Plateau has been commended for peaceful conduct of congresses across the State.

"I give the credit for peaceful congress to Plateau people who contributed to the process."

The congress was conducted by a committee headed by Rt Hon Peter Azi, Hon Speaker of the PLHA and Hon Pam Botmang, the state commissioner of works.

Meanwhile, Gov Simon Lalong has been described as a visionary leader who has impacted positive in the lives of the Plateau people.

Former Governor of Plateau State and Senator representing Pateau Central Senatorial zone in the National Assembly, Joshua Dariye at the merit award to Governor Simon Lalong by the Nation newspapers in Abuja particularly acknowledged the governor's commitment to peace, security and welfare development.

Dariye in an interview said, "when Governor Lalong came on board with the rescue mission, he took the issue of food and security dearly because when there is no peace and the people are hungry, it means he hasn't done anything, but here we are today celebrating successes in both"

The senator explained that despite the challenges of dwindling resources and insecurity, Lalong was able to make restoration of peace, agriculture and payment of salary his priority.

Gov Simon Lalong during the occassion commeded President Mohammadu Buhari for kick-starting the revolution in agriculture which has inspired them.

Gov Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State and that of Borno State, Kashim Shetima, who were both fellow awardees affirmed that with more resources, they'll be able to achieve even more. 

Guest lecturer at the award ceremony, Prof Adebisi Daramola had advocated more funding for agriculture to unlock the nation's hidden treasures.

The occasion held at Abuja was attended by members of the National Assembly led by Senator Joshua Dariye, Hon Edward Pwajok, Hon Timothy Golu, Hon Johnbull Shekarau and Hon Suleiman Kwande. Members of the Stae Executive Council, Elders and Support groups also graced the occasion.

Source: Yakubu Dati, Hon Commissioner of Information and Communication