The Plateau State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday rushed to conduct its Gubernatorial Primaries using voice vote as against the traditional ballot system due to renewed violence in Jos.

The exercise presided over by Sen. Olugbenga Obara saw delegates from the three Senatorial districts of the State unanimously agreeing to ditch the use of the ballot to save time.

The choice was to enable delegates and other stakeholders at the venue return home in good time as requested by Sen. Obadara, the Chairman of the Primary electoral committee in the State.

Gov. Simon Lalong who was affirmed as the sole candidate of the party for the 2019 governorship elections in the State assured delegates of being provided security to their destinations.

That was however after the Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Izang Madaki had moved for the adoption of Lalong as the sole candidate, seconded by former Plateau Deputy Governor, Pauline Tallen.

He equally announced the review of the earlier relaxed curfew in the state capital to 6pm-6am.

Gov. Lalong who was visibly elated with the affirmation vowed to improve on his performance records if reelected in 2019.

His reelection bid however soon appeared threatened as the leading opposition party in the State, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) concluded its Primaries several hours later, with one-time Second-in-Command in the defunct Nigerian Military Council, Jeremiah Useni emerging flagbearer.

Useni who is the current Senator of Plateau Southern Senatorial zone is believed to be one of the most popular and generous politicians in the Southern part of the State from where the next Governor is expected to emerge based on the gentleman zoning arrangement of the two parties.

The votes polled by each aspirant at the PDP gubernatorial primaries according to reports are as follows:

1. Kemi Nicholas Nshe - 117 votes

2. Hon. Nandom Ishaku - 1 vote

3. Shitnaan Maimako - 4

4. Brig Gen Musa Gambo (RTD) - 0 vote

5. Rt Hon. George Daika - 199 votes

6. Eng'r Jimmy Ceto - 7 votes

7. Senator Victor Mainasara Lar - 249

8. JohnBull Shekarau - 340 votes

9. Bawa Godfrey - 35

10. Abashe Samuel - 3 votes

11. Ibrahim Ponyah - 62 votes

12. Samuel Nanchang Jatau - 5 votes

13. Lt Gen Jeremiah T. Useini - 1018