The Plateau Debate group has shortlisted Mr. Samuel Dan-Auta Kyarshik of the ABP, ADP's Jon Temlong, ANN's Alex Ladan and Jeremiah Useni of the PDP for its 2019 Governorship debate slated for January 29.

The four will along with Mr. Godfrey Miri, the Governorship candidate of the SDP battle the present Governor of the state, Mr. Simon Lalong who has been offered automatic ticket to the event.

While all the other candidates secured entry into the debate through online public nomination and field survey, Mr. Daniel Meshak, the leader of the debate group said in a statement on Saturday that Mr. Lalong was considered on the basis of "incumbency".

"It is fair and natural that an incumbent should participate in a debate where several candidates are contesting for the office he occupies," the statement says.

The debate was initially designed to host only four candidates but six were later picked "because the final aggregate scores were quite close and it would have been difficult to exclude any of the top six candidates fairly," Mr. Meshak said.

Consequently, the event would be aired for three hours as against the two hours earlier allotted to it, the group leader stated.